Program Founders

Paul Erdős (1913–1996)

The most prolific mathematician of all time and one of those few whose work defines 20th century mathematics.

  • Wolf Prize Laureate

  • Member of the U.S. National Academy of Science

  • Member of the Royal Society

  • Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences and 5 other National Academies of Science

  • Honorary Doctor at 15 universities.

László Babai

  • The Bruce V. and Diana M. Rauner Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics, University of Chicago

  • Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

  • Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

  • Knuth Prize Laureate

  • Honorary Doctor, Technical University, Budapest

  • Gödel Prize Laureate

  • Former Pólya Lecturer of the Mathematical Association of America

László Lovász

  • Professor of Mathematics, Eötvös University, Budapest

  • Wolf Prize Laureate

  • Kyoto Prize Laureate

  • Past President of the International Mathematical Union

  • President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

  • Former member, Mathematics Research Group, Microsoft Laboratories

  • Former Professor, Princeton University

  • Former Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science,Yale University

  • Abel Prize March 2021

György Petruska

  • Professor of Computer Science, Indiana University – Purdue University, Fort Wayne, IN

  • Past Director of the Graduate Program in Computer Science at Indiana University – Purdue University, Fort Wayne

  • Former Hungarian Director of BSM, Budapest

Vera T. Sós (1930-2023)

  • Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

  • Former Professor of Mathematics, Eötvös University

  • Former Visiting Senior Researcher, AT&T Bell Laboratories

  • Chair of College Mathematics Committee, Bolyai Mathematical Society, Budapest

  • Member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences

  • Member of the Academia Europaea

  • Honorary Doctor, Eötvös University, Budapest

  • Honorary Doctor, Hebrew University, Jerusalem